Brownies, Christmas, 1962.

March 26, 2008 at 3:03 pm 6 comments

016b.jpg

Troop 76 of Dix Hills decorate the tree at the Melville library.

Entry filed under: people. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Summer storytime at the Melville library, 1962. Across the generations, Melville library, 1963.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen Rais MacMurray  |  July 24, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    That was my troop, and I was there! I have a photo of myself and others trimming the tree; it was in the local newspaper. I’m not in this photo, but I think I recognize Diane Tepe, Susan Utell, Karen Proswimmer, Maureen Lanaro, Nancy Lehren. This is awesome.

    Kathy Rais (MacMurray)

    Reply
    • 2. edruda  |  July 27, 2009 at 8:19 am

      Thanks for your comment! If you have any other photos from your troop or school and would like to share on this blog, let me know. We’d love it!
      Ellen at HHHL

      Reply
  • 3. Kathleen Rais MacMurray  |  July 27, 2009 at 9:29 am

    I have scrapbooks full of stuff starting with kindergarten (Mrs. Zutt, the Hills School 1960-61) all the way up to high school (1973). I just need to dig them out of storage, and then I would love to share them with you.

    I have so many good memories of the Melville library, too, one of my favorite places as a child. I still remember it so well – scampering up the staircase from the children’s section with books in my arms. I probably still have my old library card!

    No wonder I went on to get my MLS many years later!

    Kat MacMurray (Kathy Rais)

    Reply
    • 4. edruda  |  July 28, 2009 at 1:06 pm

      An old library card would be amazing!

      We have a scanner here in the library; I could help you digitize anything you can dig out of storage.

      Ellen, fellow MLS

      Reply
  • 5. Kathleen Rais MacMurray  |  August 11, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks, Ellen! I am so grateful for everyone who has shared history online, and I want to do the same. All my stuff will end up at the Huntington Historical Society in due time, but it would be nice to have a larger audience in the meantime. Maybe once our house renovations are over and stuff comes out of storage, I can gather it all up and make a trip to LI (I live now outside of Philly) so you can digitize away!

    How long have you been at HHHL? Libraries 4eva!

    kathy Macmurray

    Reply
  • 6. Susan Utell  |  December 10, 2016 at 10:57 am

    Hi I just saw this photo. Hi Kathy!
    Susan U

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

